A.C.M. Financial Services Ltd - for all aspects of financial planning

Author Topic: virgin media outage in marple bridge today?  (Read 4141 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sgk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
Re: virgin media outage in marple bridge today?
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2012, 07:09:18 PM »
If there are hackers reading this forum (heaven forbid!) then I don't think that publishing the MAC address of your router is a very good idea ...

I'm sure such dodgy types don't read this forum, but I did a search+replace of a few octets just to be on the safe side. :-)

hollins

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
Re: virgin media outage in marple bridge today?
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2012, 03:50:52 PM »
If there are hackers reading this forum (heaven forbid!) then I don't think that publishing the MAC address of your router is a very good idea ...

sgk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
Re: virgin media outage in marple bridge today?
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2012, 07:14:44 PM »
14:51BST !

BTW superhub logs specifically shows it coming back online at 13:51GMT (13:51BST).  Oddly, it had reset to factory defaults in the process, and changed the password back to the default.

sgk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
Re: virgin media outage in marple bridge today?
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2012, 06:47:41 PM »
Thanks for the swift feedback.  Tried again this evening and it's working.  Super Hub log shows it started working on its own at 14:53 this afternoon.

BTW superhub logs specifically shows it coming back online at 13:51GMT (13:51BST).  Oddly, it had reset to factory defaults in the process, and changed the password back to the default.


 Mon Apr 09 13:51:54 2012      Warning (5)     Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=a0:21:b7:34:04:11;CMTS-MAC=00:11:bc:a8:50:44;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;
 Mon Apr 09 13:51:54 2012      Warning (5)     MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=a0:21:b7:34:04:11;CMTS-MAC=00:11:bc:a8:50:44;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;
 Mon Apr 09 13:51:47 2012      Critical (3)     SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing;;CM-MAC=a0:21:b7:34:04:11;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;
 Mon Apr 09 13:51:28 2012      Critical (3)     SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire FEC framing;CM-MAC=a0:21:b7:34:04:11;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;
 Mon Apr 09 13:49:40 2012      Critical (3)     SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing;;CM-MAC=a0:21:b7:34:04:11;CMTS-MAC=00:11:bc:a8:50:44;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;
 Mon Apr 09 13:49:24 2012      Critical (3)     SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire FEC framing;CM-MAC=a0:21:b7:34:04:11;CMTS-MAC=00:11:bc:a8:50:44;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;
 Mon Apr 09 13:48:20 2012      Critical (3)     DHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=a0:21:b7:34:04:11;CMTS-MAC=00:11:bc:a8:50:44;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;
 Mon Apr 09 13:38:10 2012      Critical (3)     Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=a0:21:b7:34:04:11;CMTS-MAC=00:11:bc:a8:50:44;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;
 Mon Apr 09 10:15:42 2012      Critical (3)     DHCP FAILED - Requested Info not supported.;CM-MAC=a0:21:b7:34:04:11;CMTS-MAC=00:00:00:00:00:00;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0;

bluebelly

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
Re: virgin media outage in marple bridge today?
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2012, 10:37:30 AM »
had same probs came back on at arround 3.thought id not paid the bill...

jethroh65

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: virgin media outage in marple bridge today?
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2012, 11:37:01 PM »
Broadband speed has been hit & miss for the last 2 days in the Buxton Lane Area.
There is a problem in the Stockport Area that has been flagged by Virgin, but it only says SK2.
There is definitely a broadband problem rather than hub or PC problem.
Was going to ring Virgin, but could not be bothered with the usual 30 min call.

sgk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
Re: virgin media outage in marple bridge today?
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2012, 07:26:49 PM »
Thanks for the swift feedback.  Tried again this evening and it's working.  Super Hub log shows it started working on its own at 14:53 this afternoon.

amazon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3031
Re: virgin media outage in marple bridge today?
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2012, 02:12:19 PM »
My router isn't able to connect to virgin broadband this morning.

Reboots etc attempted without success, so wondering if this an actual outage for the area ? :(

What router do you have small black one or the new super hub

Tina

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 421
Re: virgin media outage in marple bridge today?
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2012, 01:27:39 PM »
No problems for me in Rose Hill

amazon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3031
Re: virgin media outage in marple bridge today?
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 12:20:19 PM »
My router isn't able to connect to virgin broadband this morning.

Reboots etc attempted without success, so wondering if this an actual outage for the area ? :(


No problems Marple bridge area .as far as I know .what speed you on ,

sgk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
virgin media outage in marple bridge today?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 10:25:50 AM »
My router isn't able to connect to virgin broadband this morning.

Reboots etc attempted without success, so wondering if this an actual outage for the area ? :(