Consulting Structural & Civil Engineers in Marple Bridge

Author Topic: rose hill and marple station ticket offices to shut !  (Read 12993 times)

My login is Henrietta

Re: rose hill and marple station ticket offices to shut !
« Reply #46 on: December 07, 2011, 06:50:21 PM »
isn't it strange how a name can stir memories i can remember how smart he allways looked 
My father was in business in Market Street and I remember him commenting on Mr S's gentlemanly conduct. When they came shoppingin the days when the street was open to traffic, he used to park the car, get out and walk round to the passenger side, open the door and hand Mrs S out of the car. Father was most impressed.

I was a student at Bangor 1968/71 and whenever I came home on the train Charlie would always greet me by name, ask me how long I was home for and give me a sweetie.

I believe the congregation at his funeral was so big it overflowed into the churchyard. I was sorry to miss it but I was working away.

Basementlife

« Reply #45 on: December 06, 2011, 01:27:46 PM »
Might I add that the present 'Station Master' at Rose Hill, Tony, is treasure for all the passengers who use the station, ever helpful and friendly, 5*

And come back 101s, at least a move up from the 'orrid MerseyRail cast-offs !

Dave

« Reply #44 on: December 06, 2011, 09:32:22 AM »