RC Cars, RC Helicopters, RC Planes | Nitrotek Ltd

Author Topic: Schools Open / Closed Today  (Read 3924 times)

simonesaffron

Re: Schools Open / Closed Today
« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2015, 08:43:10 AM »
Common sense usually

Many moons ago when I was a student teacher one of my teaching practices was in a village on the edge of the Brecon Beacons. The snow was so bad that walking to school this (then) 5'8" woman was ploughing her way through almost waist high snow. When I got to school we had an almost full complement of children and staff despite some of them coming from outside the village and the bus unable to get through. One mother walked 3 miles through the snow, leading her 6 year old on the family pony to get the child to school on time. She then walked the 3 miles home, repeating the double journey at home time.

Tell that to the kids today and they wouldn't believe you!

sgk

« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2015, 10:52:57 PM »
All information should be confirmed with schools for latest info but the word is:

Marple Hall - Closed.
Ludworth - Open.
Brabyns Prep - Open.
Rosehill - Closed.

Ludworth closed Tuesday 3rd February.  Broken heating system.

My login is Henrietta

« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2015, 08:34:15 PM »
Do you know the criteria that a school uses to determine whether it can be opened or not?
Common sense usually

Many moons ago when I was a student teacher one of my teaching practices was in a village on the edge of the Brecon Beacons. The snow was so bad that walking to school this (then) 5'8" woman was ploughing her way through almost waist high snow. When I got to school we had an almost full complement of children and staff despite some of them coming from outside the village and the bus unable to get through. One mother walked 3 miles through the snow, leading her 6 year old on the family pony to get the child to school on time. She then walked the 3 miles home, repeating the double journey at home time.