Brabyns Preparatory School -Scholarships

Author Topic: Peak hour driving time to Manchester Royal Infirmary?  (Read 2594 times)

Taurus

Re: Peak hour driving time to Manchester Royal Infirmary?
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2010, 02:10:58 PM »
Im currently a student at Manchester Metropolitan University Hollings Campus further down Oxford Road than the MRI. In my first year I was catching a 7am train from Marple to Piccadilly, then a tram down to Piccadilly Gardens then a bus down to the campus to get there for 9am lectures. It was costing me £20 a week train fare and £10 a week bus fare which is a lot of money for a student. I can remember sometimes walking the 3.5 miles from Piccadilly to the campus and it taking LESS time than getting the bus due to the volume of traffic on Oxford Road.

I ditched that method and started using bus only. Im now in final year and if I have a 9am lecture, I have to get a bus from Marple at 7am, then catch a number 42 from Stockport which goes all the way up Oxford Road and Im saving £20 a week. The traffic going into Stockport from Marple at 7am is very quiet but Stockport to Manchester gets busy around school run times. I think driving would only lessen the time slightly.

deluder

« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2010, 08:57:42 AM »
Thanks it is very helpful.

Dave

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2010, 07:32:11 AM »
Hi Danny.  You are right to be sceptical of the AA and RAC driving times!

No doubt there will be a response from someone who actually does this commute.  I don't, but I used to work in central Manchester and travel in from Marple, and if I were doing what your girlfriend is contemplating (i.e. driving in) then I would be planning to leave home every morning about 07.45.

Another option would be to use the train.  There are frequent trains from Marple to Piccadilly, and then it's just a short bus journey to MRI.  The 08.09 from Marple would get her there in time.  Hope this helps.   

deluder